Jags' Louden is Campbell Trophy Semifinalist

IRVING, Texas – The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced Wednesday 181 semifinalists for the 2017 William V. Campbell Trophy®, presented by Fidelity Investments®, with the list including University of South Alabama offensive lineman Harrison Louden.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists for the award — which recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation — on Nov. 1, with each of those people receiving an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments®. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 5, where during the event one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 28th William V. Campbell Trophy® and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

A 6-foot-5, 295-pound native of Mobile, Louden is in his second season as a starter for the Jaguars. This fall he has started all four USA contests at right guard, last time out helping South rack up a season-best 244 yards rushing against Idaho in its Sun Belt Conference opener. As a junior, he received a grade of 80 percent or high on seven occasions while recording a team-best 89 percent overall mark for the year while helping the Jags make an appearance in the NOVA Home Loans Arizona Bowl.

Off the field, Louden is a member of the Catholic Student Association, and he has volunteered at both St. Mary's Home and the Ronald McDonald House since joining the program in 2013.

After being named to the Sun Belt Academic Honor Roll in 2014-15, Louden was a member of the SBC Commissioner's List each of the last two years. He received his undergraduate degree from South Alabama in 2016 and is currently working toward his master's of business administration degree.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off