Alabama’s Hall, Jones named to preseason All-SEC men’s basketball team


    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Alabama men’s basketball players Donta Hall and Herbert Jones have been selected to the Southeastern Conference coaches preseason All-SEC Second Team, it was announced on Tuesday.

    The Crimson Tide was one of six schools from across the league with two selections, joining Auburn, Florida, Kentucky, Mississippi State and Tennessee.

    Hall looks to pick up where he left off last season when he set the program record with 72.6 percent field goal percentage. The 6-9, 230-pound senior forward returns as the Crimson Tide’s leader in scoring (10.6 ppg) and rebounding (6.6 rpg), while also topping the SEC in dunks (75). Hall earned a spot on the SEC All-Defensive team a year ago after ranking fifth in the conference with 2.0 blocks per game.

    Jones, a 6-7, 206-pound guard/forward, is also coming off an impressive 2017-18 campaign. Considered one of the top defensive players in the SEC, HE led the Crimson Tide and ranked seventh in the SEC in steals per game (1.3), while also setting the program record for charges taken in a season (23). The Greensboro, Ala., native finished his freshman season averaging 4.2 points and 3.5 rebounds per game.

    The coaches’ preseason All-SEC first and second teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the SEC head men’s basketball coaches. No ties were broken and no predicted order of finish was made.

    Alabama opens the 2018-19 campaign this evening when it takes on the Southern Jaguars in Coleman Coliseum. The contest will tip at 7 p.m. CT and can be seen on SEC Network+.

    A list of the 2019 SEC Men’s Basketball Coaches Preseason All-SEC team follows:


    Daniel Gafford – Arkansas

    Reid Travis – Kentucky

    PJ Washington – Kentucky

    Tremont Waters – LSU

    Quinndary Weatherspoon – Mississippi State

    Chris Silva – South Carolina

    Admiral Schofield – Tennessee

    Grant Williams – Tennessee


    Donta Hall – Alabama

    Herbert Jones – Alabama

    Bryce Brown – Auburn

    Jared Harper – Auburn

    KeVaughn Allen – Florida

    Jalen Hudson – Florida

    Terence Davis – Ole Miss

    Aric Holman – Mississippi State

    TJ Starks – Texas A&M

    Darius Garland – Vanderbilt

    News In Photos

      Loading ...