Jag Football's Alford picks up second pre-season honor in a week

Alford heads into his final season at the collegiate level having received preseason all-Sun Belt recognition from both Athlon Sports and Phil Steele Publications.

For the second time in just over a week, University of South Alabama defensive lineman Tre Alford picked up a preseason accolade as he was one of 108 player's from college football's Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and one of 11 from the Sun Belt Conference to be named to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List on Tuesday.

The Tuscaloosa, Ala., native was also one of 146 players selected as a nominee for Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® on July 10.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as "College Football's Premier Award for Community Service," is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Fla., and is named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida. The Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Alford — a three-time member of the Sun Belt Conference Academic Honor Roll — received his exercise science degree from South in May. Off the field during his time as a Jaguar, he has volunteered at Special Olympics and Wilmer Hall Children's Home events while also participating in the reading program atUMS-Wright Preparatory School. Alford has also taken part in events on campus sponsored by the school's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and helped USA freshmen move into their dorm rooms each of the last two years.

The rising senior recorded 37 total tackles — including 3½ behind the line of scrimmage — in his first season as a starter during the 2015 campaign, adding two passes broken up and a forced fumble. He was set to once again start on the interior of the defensive line last fall, but suffered an injury during summer workouts that forced him to miss the year.

Alford heads into his final season at the collegiate level having received preseason all-Sun Belt recognition from both Athlon Sports and Phil Steele Publications.

Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients.

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities' Sports Information departments and will close on October 13. A current list of nominees can be found at beginning Aug. 1. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 2 and finalists will be announced on Nov. 22.

The formal announcement of the 2017 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation's press conference in New York City on Dec. 5. The presentation of the 2017 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 49th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 16, 2018 in Fort Walton Beach, Fla.

Trevor Knight (Texas A&M) won last year's award and is part of a list that includes past winners Tim Tebow (Florida-2008), Barrett Jones (Alabama-2011) and Matt Barkley (USC-2012), among others.

Alford joins rising senior running back Xavier Johnson (Paul Hornung Award), senior safety Jeremy Reaves (Paycom Jim Thorpe Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy) and junior tight end Maaseiah Francis (John Mackey Award) to be selected to a preseason watch list this summer.

For more information about South Alabama athletics, check back with, and follow the Jaguars at Season tickets for all Jaguar athletic events can be purchased by calling (251) 461-1USA (1872).

Join the Jaguar Athletic Fund (JAF) Priority Fund, the unrestricted giving option of the University of South Alabama Athletics. Contributions to the Priority Fund directly support all 17 sports in addition to various support programming. For more information on how you can join visit: